Appreciation Balloon

Lungs filled

chest stretching out from the inside accumulation

incomprehensible, expansive growth

that gratitude inflates in my heart

Bigger, bigger,

to burst

to breathe

balanced and free

To relieve

this tense

massive presence

I attempt to thank, to affirm

and to express

my joy

like bursts of confetti rising into a cerulean sky

or a dove

breaking free

snapping her rusty

cramped cage

Sometimes it suffices

but only for a moment

because the gratitude balloon filling my body

swells

and receives

intermittent bursts of new, fresh

living

breathing

thriving

unconstrained, uninhibited

celebratory

joy

This dear friend joy consuming me

accompanying me

-sometimes exhausting me

is not the result of innocence and naivety

A sheltered life guarded from the horrors of

One’s mind

or a broken world

I too

have seen, known,

and thought myself

trapped

in that damn rusty bird cage

heavy and damp with despair

hollow of hope

spiraling

deep

in black hole

quick sand sucking

tedious

soul ripping

seasons of darkness

Body in convulsions

of anxiety

confusion

paralytic loneliness

dulling apathy

That enormous, and much loathed shadow

Of death

Surrendered

retreated

Is gone.

Thank God.

But I now see too

How it was

That which

Has inelegantly

superstructed me

to be

me.

That uncomfortable

tedious fight

Was the best teacher

Because

now

I can and do

Experience

Daily discover

How to weave my soul with

And wholly appreciate

so much more

The joy that is

Emmanuel

(God with us)

To love

Every neighbor

To recognize life

Accept life

Live life

Empathize

And hope

Through the perspective of

Soul-soul relational

Interaction

All the while

Buoyed up by

Yahwey’s swooping Spirit-embrace

We is perhaps

One of the most

Inclusive

Brilliant words

I know

We are not islands

We are light reflecting

Prisms of scattered color

Let your light shine

God radiate our souls

Enlighten our hearts

As we go together

Or alone – but finding others along

the way

May our lights

Together light up each other

And sneak sparkles of illuminated rainbow glints

Into the shadows

Amen

 

I want to say a special thanks to my parents for being such awesome pillars in my life through all of life’s storms (and the good times too!). And an ENORMOUS thanks to GOD. 🙂

One thought on “Appreciation Balloon

Leave a Reply

